Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||East and West Flegg|
|Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Oby beginning 1563 and for Thurne beginning 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Thurne beginning 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Thurne St Edmund is the parish church a Norman church with thatched roof. Thurne is the Saxon word for a thorn bush.
ASHBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N.) from Acle. Thisparish, which was consolidated with those of Thirne and Oby in 1604. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Flegg 1837-1924
- Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
- Acle 1939-1974
- Norwich Outer
Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Oby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Oby Online Records|
Thurne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Thurne Parish Online Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Norfolk Record Office reference for combined parish registers of Ashby, Oby and Thurne PD308/1-3, 5-7
This parish's registers do not appear on the FamilySearch website since no microfilm is held for the parish of St Edmund Thurne at the Family History Library.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Ashby with Oby on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 81-85. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Acle', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/thurne-st-edmund/ for information about he parish
http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-227733-church-of-st-edmund-thurne British listed buildings
http://www.pocketnorfolkbroads.co.uk/pnbfiles/thurne.html for information about the church and village
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=78778 includes list of rectors of Thurnehttp://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/thurne/thurne.htm Norfolk Churches with photos of the church