Ashford, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashford, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ashford, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashford, Derbyshire
Ashford-in-the water Holy Trinity Derbyshire.jpg
Ashford-in-the water Holy Trinity Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Ashford is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1731 from chapelry in Bakewell, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Brushfield.

ASHFORD, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (N. W. by W.) from Bakewell. The first erection was a chantry. There is a place of worship for General Baptists.[1] .

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.


Church records

Ashford, parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ashford Holy Trinity (1687) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1687-1881
  NONE
1690-1803
  NONE
1688-1881
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Ashford Holy Trinity formerly a chapelry of Bakewell, Derbyshire became a parish in 1872

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 747 has deposited registers Bap 168 7-1958 Mar  1692-1754, 1760-1803, 1818-1836, 1839-1959 Burial 1688-1858 Banns 1875-1932

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1669-1864 Marr 1669-1836 Bur 1669-1865

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • General Baptists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Bakewell

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashford in the Water on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 85-88. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.