Ashland County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashland County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Ashland County


Guide to Ashland County Wisconsin genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Ashland County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 27, 1860
County Seat Ashland
Courthouse
Address Ashland County Courthouse
201 Main St West;
Ashland, WI 54806-1652
Phone: 715.682.7000 
Ashland County Website


WI Ashland.png


County Information

Ashland County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1876 1871 1860 1856 1878


Historical Facts

1860--Ashland County was created 27 March 1860 from LaPointe County. [1]

Populated Places

WI ASHLAND.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Bayfield  • Iron  • Price  • Sawyer

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images. This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Maps

Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin

Military Records

Civil War
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Ashland County WI Archives Military Records - Army Enlistees

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Wisconsin Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashland County, Wisconsin Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Ashland County, Wisconsin Genealogy Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Ashland County, Wisconsin Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Ashland Historical Society
509 West Main
Ashland, WI, 54806
Telephone: 715-682-4911
Website

Area Research Center and Wisconsin Historical Society History Center and Archives
29270 County Highway G
Ashland, WI 54806-9339
Telephone: 715-685-2647
E-mail:whsnorthwoods@whs.wisc.edu
Website

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
History Center and Archives
29270 County Highway G
Ashland, WI. 54806-9339
Telephone: 1-715-685-2647
Website

Mellen Area Historical Society
PO Box 522
Mellen, Wisconsin 54546
Telephone: 715-274-3931
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

School Records

Taxation

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state. See also How to order Wisconsin Vital Records or order electronically online.

For additional information on how to acquire the records, see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Vital Records.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

Ashland County Courthouse
201 Main St West;
Ashland, WI 54806-1652
Phone: 715.682.7000

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1863, marriage records from 1879, death records from 1877 and land records from 1860. The Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1873. Register in Probate has probate records from 1890[2]

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Ashland County, Wisconsin, p.755