Ashley, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Ashley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Altrincham|
|Registration District||Cheshire East|
ASHLEY, a township, in the parish of Bowdon, union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of Cheshire, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Knutsford. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.
Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Ashley St Elizabeth Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1880-1913
|FS BT'S||NONE|| NONE
Ashley St Elizabeth was a township in Bowdon, created a parish in 1881.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for Ashley, 1880-1969 Cheshire Record Office no.: P243/1.
|Parish Registers: Ashley||Film|
| Baptisms, 1880-1969.
|| 1655851 Item 2|
| Baptisms, 1880-1969 (another filming, 1989).
|| 1655305 Item 2|
Bishop's transcripts for Ashley, 1880-1909 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 8
|Bishops Transcripts: Ashley||Film|
| Baptisms, 1880-1885, 1909.
|| 1595462 Item 2|
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Altrincham (1837-98)
- Bucklow (1898-1974)
- Macclesfield (1974-98)
- Cheshire East (1998-2007)
- Cheshire (2007-09)
- Cheshire East (2009+)
Poor Law Unions
- Altrincham (1836-95)
- Bucklow (1895-1930)
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 30 December 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.