Ashley, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashley, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Ashley, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashley, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Market Harborough
Registration District Market Harborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weldon
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

ASHLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Market-Harborough, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Rockingham. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashley, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Bishop's Transcripts (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[4][5][6][7]
Ashley, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1874 1813-1874 1813-1874 1813-1874
AC PRs 1588-1812 1588-1812 1588-1753 1588-1753 1588-1812 1588-1812
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912

Marriages from 1655 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438874.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.