Ashley, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashley, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Ashley

Guide to Ashley, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashley, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Tetbury
Registration District Tetbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

ASHLEY (St. James), a parish, in the union of Tetbury, hundred of Malmesbury, Malmesbury and Kingswood, and N. divisions of Wilts, 5 miles (N. by W.) from Malmesbury. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
ASHLEY PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464199.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.