Ashley County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashley County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Ashley County

Guide to Ashley County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Ashley County Courthouse
215 E Jefferson Street
Hamburg, AR 71646
Phone: 870.853.2020

County Clerk has marriage, probate, and land records from 1848. 
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.[1]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) - Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) - Provides links to County officials and public records

Ashley County, Arkansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1914 1848 1914 1849 1849 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1921 A courthouse fire in 1921 destroyed most of the county's records.

Boundary Changes

  • 1848--Ashley County was created 30 November 1848 from Chicot, Union and Drew Counties.

County seat: Hamburg [3]

Cities and Towns

Template:AR Cities and Towns Intro

  • Click FamilySearch Catalog and select the link Places within... for cities and towns (most counties)

Populated Places

  • Hamburg
  • Portland
{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hamburg
Organized: November 30, 1848
Parent County(s): Drew
Neighboring Counties
Bradley  • Chicot  • Drew  • Union  • Morehouse (LA)  • West Carroll (LA)  • East Carroll (LA)
Courthouse
ArkansasAshleyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-ashley.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


History Timeline

Events below were gleaned from the Ashley County section of Deirdre Kelley & Bill Norman, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture

  • By AD 1700, the area had no permanent villages.
  • 1818 - The Quapaw ceded what would be Ashley County to the United States government.
  • 1826 - When U.S. surveyor Nicholas Rightor entered the Arkansas Territory , he found settlers who had come to a land that they found to be abundantly fertile and in which game and fish were plentiful.
  • 1848 - November 30 - Ashley County was organized.
  • 1855 - By this time, many farms were producing cotton, corn, wheat, potatoes, and livestock. Timber was rafted down the Saline River.
  • Ashley County experienced solid growth in the years leading up to the Civil War. From a population of 2,058 in 1850, the county had grown to 8,590 in 1860. The Civil War interrupted this growth, so that by 1870, the population had dropped to 8,042.
  • Congress’s 1867 passage of “An Act for the More Efficient Government of the Rebel States” divided the South into five districts and implemented martial law in 1868.
  • 1868 - When the Fourteenth Amendment was passed , Arkansas refused to ratify it.
  • 1890's - The beginning of what was to become one of Arkansas’s most important economic developments: the wood products industry.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890 — Online at Ancestry.com $

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Ashley County, Arkansas online and in print
Online search for people in the county
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Select a cemetery and search it for nearby relatives
Find printed records (Often more complete)
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

  • Court records began in 1849 [4]

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

  • Etheridge, Y. W. History of Ashley County, Arkansas. Van Buren, Ark. : Press-Argus, 1959.
  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890.
  • See also Cities and towns for resources in the FamilySearch Catalog

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Ashley CountyUnion CountyChicot CountyDrew CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyUnion ParishWest Carroll ParishEast Carroll ParishMorehouse ParishARAshley.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Ashley County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company E
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate).

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Sites with online indexes or images of records

  • ARGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  5. May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
Felsenthal National Wildlife Refuge is home to the American Alligator it is located in South-central Arkansas (Ashley County), Bradley, and Union Counties.