Ashley cum Silverley, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Ashley cum Silverley, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashley cum Silverley, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cheveley
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1746
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

ASHLEY cum Silverley (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Cheveley, county of Cambridge, 3¼ miles (E. by S.) from Newmarket.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mircorfilm copies of these records are available from the Family History Library or your local Family History Center.

Parish registers for Ashley-cum-Silverley, 1630-1876: Film # 1040364 Items 3-13

Copies of these registers are also available at the Cambridge Record Office, the Society of Genealogist.

Boyds Marriage Index covers 1538-1837 and is available on British Origins and findmypast.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashley on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.