Ashover, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ashover, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ashover, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashover, Derbyshire
Ashover All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Ashover All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Belper; Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Ashover is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Doehole.

ASHOVER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, partly in the hundred of Wirksworth, but chiefly in that of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Chesterfield, Containing, with the chapelry of Dethwick-Lea, and the hamlet of Holloway. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.


Church records

Ashover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ashover All Saints (1621) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1898-1912
  NONE
1799-1912
  NONE
1899-1912
  NONE

Ashover All Saints parish includes Dethick Lea and Halloway, Derbyshire until 1901. The registers of this parish include baptisms from  Dethick chapel 1754-1847 and also two marriages in 1757.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D253 has deposited registers Bap 1621-1623, 1653-1925 Mar 1653-1998 Burials 1653-1668, 1671-1990 Banns 1653-1661, 1823-1904, 1952-1972

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1667-1853 Mar 1667-1845 Burials 1667-1853

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Chesterfield

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashover on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.