Aslockton St Thomas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire

Parish History

Aslockton St Thomas was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish from the Ancient Parish of Whatton, Nottinghamshire when the church was built in 1891-1892. The village and civil parish is in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire two miles east of Bingham.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the hisory of this church and parish Aslockton St Thomas

The village of Aslockton  ( in earlier records Aslackton) was the birthplace of Thomas Cranmer Aslockton Wikipedia Thomas Cranmer Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aslockton St Thomas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[1]
Aslockton St Thomas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

Aslockton St Thomas

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Marriages 1894-1965
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes A to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.