Astley, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Astley, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Astley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Astley, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Martley
Registration District Martley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Worcester
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

ASTLEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Martley, Lower division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Hundred-House and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (S. W. by S.) from Stourport.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Astley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Worcestershire Parish Registers (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
Astley Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1539-1837 1539-1837 1539-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464204.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'Worcestershire Baptisms: Discover more about these records,' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.
  3. 'Worcestershire Marriages: Discover more about these records,' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.
  4. 'Worcestershire Burials: Discover more about these records' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.