Aston Abbots, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Aston Abbots, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Aston Abbots, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Aylesbury|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of St Albans|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
ASTON ABBOT'S (St. James), a parish, in the union of Aylesbury, hundred of Cottesloe, county of Buckingham, 5½ miles (N. N. E.) from Aylesbury.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Aston Abbots, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Aston Abbots, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records|
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241214.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Aston Abbots on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Date Accessed 21 May 2013. Adapted.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Buckingham, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
- 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.