Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Aston Upthorpe

Guide to Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1861; For more records see Blewbury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1859
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

ASTON-UPTHORP, a chapelry, in the parish of Blewberry, union of Wallingford, hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 3¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Wallingford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Aston Upthorpe, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1861-1995
1861-1995
1861-1995

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241202.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aston Upthorpe chapelry in parish of Blewbury in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-108. Date accessed: 27 March 2013
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.