Attington, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Attington, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Attington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Attington, Oxfordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thame
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

ATTINGTON, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Thame, county of Oxford, 1 mile (E. by N.)from Tetsworth. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Template:Brotosj Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 108-112. Date accessed: 13 September 2012.