Attlebridge, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Attlebridge, Norfolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes


Guide to Attlebridge, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Attlebridge, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Taverham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union St Faith's
Registration District St Faiths
Records begin
Parish registers: 1712
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taverham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

ATTENBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (S. W.) from Nottingham; containing, with the township of Toton and the hamlet of Chilwell. [1]

Attlebridge is an Ancient Parish in the county of Norfolk. Addtiional historical information is available on Tinstaafl Transcripts and Norfolk Churches.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Attlebridge, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Attlebridge, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1712-1813 1712-1835 1712-1813
FS ATs 1636-1811 1636-1811 1636-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1712-1812 Undefined 1712-1834 Undefined 1712-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1715-1842
TGEN 1813-1834 1813-1834
TIN 1813-1880


Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.



Directories

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 108-112. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.
  10. 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Attlebridge', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.
http://www.norwich.anglican.org/church?deanery=23 Sparham Deanery website