Auckland St Anne, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Auckland St Anne, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Auckland St Anne, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1855|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/12 Date: March 1765-1851
Contents: Includes transcripts for Escomb, May 1795-1803 DDR/EA/PBT/2/102 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1855-1988 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL ( EP/Au.SAn).
Non Conformist Churches
- Circuit Registers: Baptisms 1912-1936
- Circuit Registers (Primitive): Baptisms 1859-1945
- Circuit Registers (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1838-1962.
- Newgate (Unitarian): Baptisms 1934-1938, Marriages 1915-1959
- South Road (Unitarian): Baptisms 1905-1935
- Baptisms 1876-1904
- St. Wilfred: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1849-1916
Society of Friends
- Bishop Auckland Preparative Meeting: 1715-1894
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Auckland St Anne (see Auckland St Andrew) on GENUKI
Bishop Auckland St Anne on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.