Auckland St Helen, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Auckland St Helen, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Auckland St Helen, Durham|
|Type||Parochial Chapel Parish|
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1593|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
AUCKLAND, ST. HELEN, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Andrew, union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Bishop-Auckland; containing the township of St. Helen (which constitutes only a small portion of the chapelry.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/13 Date: 1762-1854 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.The Parish Registers for the period 1593-1931 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Au.SH).
Non Conformist Churches
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Heaviside, George Coulson. An F.R.S. from Morley. History and family names of John Heaviside born 1607, and Ann nee Porter, his wife married 11 November 1643. Descendants move about Billingham, Stockton on Tees, Wolviston, Marylebone, London. with some in USA, Canada, and Australia. Surnames, Story, Wilson, Moore, Laws, Taylor, Winlow, Smith and West, dated 1607-1955. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 35,no.1.page 21-24. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.35 no.1 (spring 2010).
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Auckland St Helen on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.