Australia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Australia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Australia Research Topics
Australia flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Australia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Guide to Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

European explorers began arriving in what is now Australia in the 17th century. In 1770, Great Britain claimed Australia as a territory. The "First Fleet" of European settlers arrived in 1788 with ships of convicts. Six colonies were created in the late 18th and 19th centuries; they federated and became the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901. English is the official language.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Australia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Australia research.

Australia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites about Australia research.

See More Research Tools


Australia ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Australia Clickable Map

When doing Australian research, it is helpful to know where one's family or ancestors lived in Australia and to know when they died. Click on a state name or on the map below to learn about research in an Australian state or territory.


Western AustraliaNorthern TerritoryQueenslandVictoriaTasmaniaSouth AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryAustralian Capital TerritoryNew South WalesAustralia map for clickable map.png
About this image


States

After federation many governmental functions whose records are of interest to family historians remained the responsibility of the States. For example, the registration of Births, Deaths and Marriages is a State function; the Commonwealth was only responsible for these functions in the territories until the territory achieved responsible self-government. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.


Territories


Former Australian Territories

  • The New Zealand Islands (1788-1840) (as part of the Colony of New South Wales)
  • Territory of Papua (1906–42)
  • Territory of New Guinea (1920–42)
  • Territory of Papua & New Guinea (1942–71)
  • Territory of Papua New Guinea (1971–75)
  • Territory of Nauru (1920–68)

More Australia Research Tools and Resources

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Australia.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Australia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australia, accessed 23 March 2016.