Austwick, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Austwick, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Settle|
|Parish registers: 1879|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
AUSTWICK (the Epiphany), a township and chapelry, created in 1843 from Clapham Ancient Parish. It is in the union of Settle, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, West Riding Yorkshire, 4 miles (N. W.) from Settle. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.
AUSTWICK, a township, in the parish of Clapham, union of Settle, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. W.) from Settle; containing 599 inhabitants. 
AUSTWICK, a township-chapelry in Clapham parish, W. R. Yorkshire; near Ingleborough hill, 2 miles NE of Clapham r. station, and 4½ NW of Settle. Post Town, Clapham, under Lancaster. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Clapham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|AUSTWICK CHAPELRY (1837) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Austwick and comprising the whole ancient parish of Clapham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Clapham page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464272.
Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Austwick census enumerators books 1841-1901.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 112-116. Date accessed: 7 January 2014.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.