Averham with Kelham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Averham with Kelham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Averham with Kelham, Nottinghamshire|
Averham St+Michael Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Kelham beginning 1663|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Kelham beginning 1603|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
AVERHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¼ miles (W. by N.) from Newark. The living is a rectory, with that of Kelham it was annexed in 1775. 
Averham St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient parish in the village and civil parish of Averham in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire Averham Wikipedia
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish Averham St Michael and All Angels From 1755 the parish of Kelham, Nottinghamshire was a united benefice but note that separate parish records were kept.
The church of St Michael has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
To avoid confusion see Kelham, Nottinghamshire
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Averham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|AVERHAM PARISH Online Records|
Averham St Michael and All Angels
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1964 Marriages 1539-1901 Burials 1538-2003 Bishop’s Transcripts 1601-1855
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Separate registers exist for Kelham, Nottinghamshire
Averham - St Michael and All Angels. A transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1611, giving surname, given names, date of death, age at death. Some of the entries have family relationships. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.64, page 1, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n. Copy also at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/1
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Averham in Averham
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.