Avesta parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Avesta parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Avesta parish


Guide to Avesta parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Avesta
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1918 Grytnäs and Avesta, 1919- Avesta
Län 1631-1635 Säter, 1636-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad 1700- Folkare tingslag, Folkare härad (the area for Folkare tingslag called Folkare härad since the latter 1700's)
Tingslag -1694 Folkare, 1695-1731 Grytnäs, 1732-1970 Folkare
Domsaga 1687-1798 Västra, 1799-1857 Kopparbergslagen and Näsgårds län, 1858- Hedemora
Fögderi 1720-1885 Näsgårds län, 1886-1946 Hedemora, 1946- Avesta
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Folkärna
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Avesta
Kommun 1641-1686 Avesta stad, 1863-1905 Avesta, 1906-1918 Avesta köping, 1919-1970 Avesta stad, 1971- Avesta
Militär indelning Extra Soldat-Roteringen
FamilySearch I.D. 6372133
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10044


Place Names

Alphabetical listing of individuals residing in the parish. Bjursfors bruk.


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Avesta parish, 1832-1842 Förhörsbok, Register.

Riksarkivet. "Avesta Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/