Awre, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Awre, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Awre, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Awre, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bledisloe
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Westbury on Severn
Registration District Westbury on Severn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Blakeney beginning 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

AWRE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Westbury, hundred of Bledisloe, W. division of the county of Gloucester, with Blakeney, a post-town in the parish, and the tythings of Awre,Bledisloe, Hagloe, and Etloe. This parish, which is intersected by the road from Gloucester to Chepstow, forms a promontory of the river Severn. Besides the parochial church, there is a chapel at Blakeney,and also a Baptist chapel and a national school. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Awre, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[7]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[8]
Awre, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1753 1538-1753 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1882 1813-1882 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1875 1813-1875
BOYD 1632-1819
DEAN 1538-2004 1538-1947 1538-2006
FHSO 1800-1837

Blakeney registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Blakeney, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1853-1938 1853-1938
DEAN 1813-1957 1853-1944 1892-1964

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 116-120. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 5 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  8. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.