Bäretswil parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Bäretswil parish


Guide to Bäretswil parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Bäretswil

Adetswil
Aemet
Aesch
Altegg
Amt
Bäretswil Dorf
Bäretswil Oberdorf
Berghof
Binz
Boll
Bräch
Breitenmatt
Brunau
Burgweid
Bürgweidli
Bussental
Dunkelwies
Egglen
Eichschür
Erholungsheim Adetswil
Fehrenwaldsberg
Ghöch
Ghöchweid
Grossacker
Grünau
Gubel
Haberacker
Halde
Haldengut
Hermetschwendi
Hinter-Allenberg

Hinterberg
Hinter-Bettswil
Binterburg
Hinter-Dunkelwies
Hinter-Sädel
Hintere Stöck
Hof
Hofschür
Hohlenstein
Hohlenweidli
Hütten bei Bäretswil
Hütten bei Kleinbäretswil
Hüttenacker
Josenhof
Kleinbäretswil
Laubenfelsen
Laupertswil
Maiwinkel
Matt bei Adetswil
Matt bei Bettswil
Meierhof
Mittler-Sädel
Mittlere Zelg
Morglen
Mühlacker
Mühle
Mühlekram
Neuegg
Neueggheim
Neuhaus
Neuhof
Neutal

Ober-Läseten
Ober-Rellsten
Ober-Rüeggental
Ober-Stollen
Ober-Tanne
Ober-Wappenswil
Obere Zelg
Platte
Rellsten
Riet
Rüeggental
Rüetswil
Sandbühl
Schmärschür
Schönau
Schulhaus Fehrenwaldsberg
Schulhaus Wappenswil
Schürli
Schwarzweid
Sennhütte bei Hof
Sonnenberg
Sonnenhof bei Adetswil
Sonnenhof bei Bäretswil
Sonnenhof bei Tanne
Stapfeten
Steinweid
Stockacker
Stockrüti
Tannacker
Tanne

Tisenwaldsberg Ausserhaus
Tisenwaldsberg Oberhaus
Tisenwaldsberg Sennhütte
Tisenwaldsberg Unterhaus
Tobel
Unter-Läseten
Unter-Laupetswil
Unter-Sädel
Unter-Stockacker
Untere Stockrüti
Unter-Stollen
Unter-Wappenswil
Untere Zelg
Vorder-Allenberg
Vorder-Bettswil
Vorder-Bussental
Vorder-Hofschür
Vorder-Sädel
Vordere Stöck
Waberg
Wässeri
Weid bei Adetswil
Weid bei Bettswil
Weissenbach
Wiese
Wirzwil
Zelgli bei Adetswil
Zelgli bei Bäretswil
Ziegelhütte

Surrounding Parishes

Bauma
Fischenthal
Hinwil
Hittnau
Pfäffikon
Wetzikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Bäretswil:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 702
1634 1185139 3 513
1637 1185142 1 187
1640 1185144 2 405
1646 1185148 1 763
1649 1185149 2 1
1657 1185179 1 82
1663 1185179 2 345
1670 1185154 1 775
1678 1185157 2 1
1682 1185159 2 643
1689 1185163 2 183
1700 1185166 2 613
1723 1185175 2 249

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bäretswil families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Bäretswil belongs to the Bauma civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Bauma
Dorfstrasse 41
Postfach 232
CH-8494 Bauma

Tel: +41 52 397 70 60

email: zivilstandsamt@bauma.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bäretswil prior to 1875:

Bachmann
Bachofen
Bernhard (from
    Seeberg)
Beurer (from Zürich)
Bohli
Bosshard
Brandenberger
Briner
Brunner
Buchmann
Bünzi
Bürgi
Dürsteler
Egli
Enderli
Erzinger
Fenner
Fischer

Furrer
Glarner
Gnehm
Graf
Gretler
Grimm
Gubler
Guyer
Hess
Heusser
Honegger
Hotz
Hürlimann
Isler
Jucker
Jünger
Kägi
Keller

Kindlimann
Knecht
Krauer
Kündig
Künzli
Kunz
Lattmann
Maag
Meier / Meyer
Meili
Müller
Muggli
Ochsner
Pfenninger (from
    Hinwil)
Pohli
Raths
Rüegg

Schaufelberger
Schneider
Schoch
Schulthess
Senn
Spörri
Spoerry (1868)
Steinmann
Stössel
Strehler
Stutz
Tobler
Walder
Wartmann
Weber
Wild
Wirth
Wolfensberger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland