Badgeworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Badgeworth, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Badgeworth

Guide to Badgeworth, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Badgeworth, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cheltenham
Registration District Cheltenham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553; For more records see Shurdington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchcombe
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BADGEWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cheltenham, Upper division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's Barton, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Cheltenha, containing, the hamlets of Bentham, Little Shurdington, and Little Witcombe. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Badgeworth, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Badgeworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1753 1559-1753 1559-1812 1559-1812
AC 1813-1911 1813-1911 1755-1938 1755-1938 1813-1922 1813-1922
FHSO 1800-1837


Bentham St Mary, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bentham St Mary Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1749-1812 1749-1812 1749-1812 1749-1812 1749-1812 1749-1812
AC 1813-1852 1813-1852 1813-1938 1813-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988


Bentham St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bentham St Peter Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1889-1913 1889-1913 1913-1938 1913-1938 1914-1988 1914-1988

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.