Badsey with Aldington, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Badsey with Aldington, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Badsey with Aldington, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackenhurst
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Evesham
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

BADSEY (St. James), a parish in the union of Evesham, Upper division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 2¼ miles (E. by S.) from Evesham with the hamlet of Aldington.[1]

ALDINGTON, a hamlet in the parish of Badsey, union of Evesham, Upper division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 2 miles (E.) from Evesham.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Badsey with Aldington, Worcestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

GOOG = Google Books - free[3]
Badsey with Aldington, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
GOOG 1570-1705 (gaps) 1570-1705 (gaps) 1570-1705 (gaps)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464204.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.
  3. T.P., Collections for Gloucestershire (1861). Digitised by Google Books - free.