Bagillt, Flintshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Bagillt, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
"BAGILLT, at township in the parish of Holywell, Holywell division of the hundred of Coleshill, county of Flint, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Holywell. .... This place, which is divided in Bagillt-Vawr and Bagillt-Vechan, is situated close on the southern shore of the aestuary of the Dee, on a branch of the great road from Chester to Holyhead, which, branching off at Northorp, passes through Flint, and joins the main line at Holywell....There are places of worship for Independents, and for Calvinistc and Wesleyan Methodists."[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information on Bagillt see: Genuki - Bagillt
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Flintshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.
- FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
- findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.