Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Balcombe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BALCOMB (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, partly in the hundred of Street, but chiefly in the hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N.) from Cuckfield.. It is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. A history of the church can be found at Vision of Britain through Time.. It has been designated as a grade I listed building. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1540-1943 Marr 1540-1969 Bur 1539-1928 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1893
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Balcombe
Land Tax 1785. A list of owners and occupiers and places within the Parish. This article to be found in Sussex Family Historian Magazine, vol. 1 #3, Dec. 1973, page 7-10, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
- John Marius Wilson, GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Balcombe in Mid Sussex | Map and description (1870-72) Date accessed: 09th January 2014
- British listed building
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.