Bampton Aston with Shifford, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Bampton Aston with Shifford, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bampton Aston with Shifford, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney
Registration District Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837; Separate registers exist for Shifford beginning 1783
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843; Separate records exist for Shifford beginning 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

BAMPTON (St. Mary), a town and parish, in the union of Witney, hundred of Bampton, county of Oxford, 16 miles (W. by S.) from Oxford, and 70 (W. N. W.)from London; comprising the hamlets of Aston, Brighthampton, Chimney, Lew, and Weald, the chapelry of Shifford, and the township of Bampton.[1]

Shifford is a chapelry in the parish and hundred of Bampton. Genuki.org.uk provides additional descriptions of this area. Aston is a hamlet in the parish of Bampton and also has additional information provided by Genuki.org.uk. Gardner's Directory provides a lengthy description of the whole area as it was in 1852.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bampton Aston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Bampton Aston Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1538-1868 1538-1855
OFHS 1538-1966
1538-1972
1538-1936

Shifford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Shifford Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1721-1969
1721-1964
1721-1969


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.


 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-141. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.