Banbury, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Banbury, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Banbury|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
BANBURY (St. Mary),a borough, market-town,and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Banbury, county of Oxford, but partly in that of King's-Sutton, S.division of the county of Northampton, 22 miles(N.) from Oxford, and 69(N. W.) from London; containing, the township of Neithrop and the hamlets of Grimsbury and Nethercote. There are places of worship for Calvinists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and others; and a handsome and commodious Roman Catholic chapel recently erected. 
Banbury is an Ancient Parish partly in Northamptonshire and mostly in Oxfordshire (which see). Other places in the parish include: Wykham, Calthorpe, Wickham, Neithrop, and Hardwick. Genuki.co.uk provides a lengthly description of this location. Peter Cook has created a names index of those in Banbury which is hosted on Genuki.co.uk. In 1853 a chapel was built to ease the population growth and meet the spiritual needs of the local inhaibtants in Neithrop, called St Paul's Chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
As most of Banbury is located in Oxfordshire, the church records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under church records in Oxfordshire.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474571.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
■findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
■The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 December November 2013.