Bangladesh Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bangladesh)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Bangladesh

Bangladesh Wiki Topics
Flag of Bangladesh.svg (1).png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bangladesh Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Bangladesh ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Bangladesh is a country in Asia bordered by India and Myanmar. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official language is Bengali.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Bangladesh Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bangladesh research.

Bangladesh Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bangladesh research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Bangladesh Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Bangladesh.
Bangladesh divisions map.png


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Bangladesh. Bangladesh is divided into seven administrative divisions, each named after their respective divisional headquarters

Divisions are subdivided into districts (zila). There are 64 districts in Bangladesh, each further subdivided into upazila (subdistricts) or thana ("police stations").

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bangladesh," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 4 May 2016.