Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Barbour County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Barbour County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||March 3, 1843|
|Address|| Barbour County Courthouse|
8 N Main Street
Philippi, WV 26416
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Biographies
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Genealogy
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military
- 5.11 Naturalizations
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Petitions
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Online West Virginia Tax site
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Barbour County, West Virginia Record Dates
- County Clerk has birth, marriage, death since 1853
- Probate Record and land records from 1845
- Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1904 Death Records are missing for the year 1904.
Places / Localities
Town of Belington
Town of Junior
City of Philippi
- Barbour County Biography at Ancestry.com ($)
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
For tips on accessing Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
1850 Barbour County, West Virginia Census
Join us in indexing the 1940 Census
- Coberly - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
- Male - Mayhle, Bernard Victor. The Males of Barbour County, West Virginia. 1983.
- Male - Barnett, Glenn W. Mayle-Male-Male Family Kinship: Four Generations of Descendants of Mary Elizabeth Male nee Cockit.
- Male - Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, and Delaware (2005). Digital version online
- Male - Finley, Alexandra. "Founding Chestnut Ridge: The Origins of Central West Virginia's Community," Senior Honor's Thesis, The Ohio State University (2010). Digital version online.
- Barbour County History at Ancestry.com ($)
Go here for general Military Records of West Virginia
Regiments. Service men in Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D..
- - 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Barbour Greys) and Company K (Potomac Guards or Mountain Guards).
- - 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company E.
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Union and Confederate Soldiers and Sympathizers of Barbour County, West Virginia at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Barbour County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.
- Eckenrode, H.J. Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. Richmond, Va.: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. [Barbour County petitions (1843-1858) are described on pp. 186-194.]
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
- Barbour County, West Virginia Will Books 1846-1960
- West Virginia Will Books
- Barbour County Wills a Collection
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
. Includes marriages 1843-1849, 1853-1969 - free.
- Barbour County Births at USGenWeb - free.
- West Virginia Marriages 1853-1970; free searchable index available at FamilySearch. Records include such information as bride and groom's names, birth date and birthplace, marriage place, clerk's name and sometimes the name of the father, and film and record numbers. Individual names and collections can be searched at FamilySearch.Marriage bonds of Barbour County, Virginia, 1843
- Barbour County Marriages at USGenWeb - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Barbour County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Barbour County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
- Cyndi's List
- Barbour County Family Album
- More Barbour County Resources
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
- Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)