Bardney, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bardney, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Bardney

Guide to Bardney, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bardney, Lincolnshire
Bardney St Lawrence Lincolnshire.jpg
Bardney St Lawrence Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wraggoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561; Separate records exist for Southrey beginning 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wraggoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Bardney St Lawrence is an Ancient parish which includes Osgodby, Snakeholme, Southrey Southrow

The church was built about 1420 but incorpoartes some Norman stone and has been restored in subsequent centuries

An earlier Benedictine Abbey was destroyed by Viking raiders in 870.


BARDNEY (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the W. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 10 miles (W.) from Horncastle. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was within the South West sub-district of Lincoln Registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bardney Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bardney


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.


Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Bardney/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-141. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.