Barkingside Trinity, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barkingside Trinity, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes 

Guide to Barkingside Trinity, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barkingside Trinity, Essex
Holy Trinity Church, Barkingside, Essex .jpg
Holy Trinity Church, Barkingside, Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Chapel History

BARKING-SIDE, is a chapelry in Great Ilford parish, Essex. It was constituted in 1841: and the post office is under Ilford.[1]

Additional information can be found under Ilford.

ILFORD, GREAT (St. Mary), is an ecclesiastical parish, in the union of Romford, the hundred of Becontree, S. division of Essex, it is 8 miles (N. E. by E.) from London, on the road to Chelmsford. This place, until 1830 was a chapelry in the parish of Barking: there is a station on the line of the Eastern Counties railway.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Barkingside Trinity Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1840
1840
1842
Images 1840-1970 EssexAncestors[3] 1840-1939 EssexAncestors[3] 1842-1957 EssexAncestors[3]
Indexes
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Barkingside Trinity on GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson, John A., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870) Adapted: access date 3 May 2013
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted: access date 3 May 2013
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.