Barmby Marsh, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barmby Marsh, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
North Riding of Yorkshire
Barmby Marsh

Guide to Barmby Marsh, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barmby Marsh, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Howdenshire
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Howden
Registration District Howden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1777
Bishop's Transcripts: 1790
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham within the Jurisdiction of Howden and Howdenshire
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Chapel History

BARMBY-on-the-Marsh (St Helen), a chapelry, in the parish and union of Howden, East Riding, Yorkshire, 3½ miles (W.) from Howden; containing 506 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = findmypast (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BARMBY MARSH CHAPELRY (1777) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

FMP (£) None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.