Barnard Castle, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Barnard Castle, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Barnard Castle, Durham|
St Mary Barnard Castle County Durham
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale|
|Parish registers: 1609|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
BARNARD-CASTLE, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Gainford, union of Teesdale, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 25 miles (S. W. by W.) from Durham, and 244 (N. N. W.) from London; There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Additional information: Barnard Castle St Mary was created in 1723 from a 12th century chapelry in Gainford Ancient Parish.
The medieval history of the town is dominated by the castle and the Balliol family who owned it. The castle was built in the late 11th century. When the castle was built it outer defences may have surrounded the small church of St Margaret, which was probably the parish church. A new parish church, dedicated to St Mary was built outside the walls. The Church of St Mary is believed to have been built in the twelfth century. It was a chapelry. It was not the only religious establishment in the town. In around 1230 a small hospital was founded on Newgate Street. It had its own chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/17 Date: 1762-1846 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1609-1954 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/BC).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Records
- Congregational Church: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1806-1908 copies of pre-1837 baptism registers are available (M5/1-5).
- Barnard Castle Circuit (Primitive): Baptisms 1831-1934
- Barnard Castle Circuit (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1803-1957, Marriages 1849-1882
- Newgate: Baptisms 1953-1974
- Catholic Church: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1847-1974
Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241351.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Barnard Castle on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.