Barnes County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barnes County, North Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota


Barnes County


Guide to Barnes County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Valley City
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Pembina [1]
Neighboring Counties
Cass  • Griggs  • LaMoure  • Ransom  • Steele  • Stutsman
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaBarnesCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Barnes Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Barnes County in honor of Judge Alanson H. Barnes (1818-1890) who was an associate justice of the Territorial Court. It was finally organized in a meeting at Valley City on January 6, 1879.[2] Its county seat is Valley City.[3]

County Courthouse

Barnes County Courthouse
230 4th S NE
Valley City, ND 58072
Phone: 701-845-8512
Barnes County Website
Clerk District Court has birth, death, burial and court records;
County Judge has marriage and probate records[4]

Barnes County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1882 1893 1875 1875 1875 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1873--Barnes County was created 4 January 1873 from Pembina County.
County seat: Valley City [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Barnes County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County

 

See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 1,585
1890 7,045 344.5%
1900 13,159 86.8%
1910 18,066 37.3%
1920 18,678 3.4%
1930 18,804 0.7%
1940 17,814 −5.3%
1950 16,884 −5.2%
1960 16,719 −1.0%
1970 14,669 −12.3%
1980 13,960 −4.8%
1990 12,545 −10.1%
2000 11,775 −6.1%
2010 11,066 −6.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.


Lutheran

Skandia

Spring Creek, Hasting

Valley City

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.


Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Barnes County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

http://genealogytrails.com/ndak/barnes/military/ww1casualties.html World War I Casualties, Barnes County, North Dakota] (Genealogy Trails) World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War


Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Barnes County Historical Society
315 Central Ave. N.
Valley City, ND 58072-0661
Telephone: 701-845-0966
Fax: 701-845-5223
E-mail: bchistoricalsociety@hotmail.com
Website
Facebook Page

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Barnes County, North Dakota Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails).
  3. Valley City, North Dakota, Wikipedia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Barnes County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Barnes County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Barnes_County,_North_Dakota_Genealogy&oldid=2777587"