Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Barrow on Trent

Guide to Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire
Barrow upon Trent St Wilfrid Derbyshire.jpg
Barrow upon Trent St Wilfrid Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree; Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1657
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

BARROW (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, partly in the hundred of Appletree, and partly in that of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 5¾ miles (S.) from Derby. The parish includes the chapelry of Twyford with Stenson, and the liberty of Sinfin with Arleston. In addition to the parochial church, there is a chapel of ease at Twyford. The Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Barrow on Trent St Wilfrid parish includes Arleston and  the chapelry of Twyford and Stenson, Derbyshire Until 1935 Sinfin was part of the parish.

Barrow on Trent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Barrow on Trent St Wilfrid (1657) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1754-1912
  NONE
1813-1912
  NONE

Missing registers from this parish include Bap 1732-1736 and 1813-1872 Marriages 1732-1736, 1813-1968 and Bur 1734-1736. Derbyshire Record Office reference D5234 has deposited registers Bap 1657-1732, 1737-1812,1872-2000 Mar 1663-1722, 1737-1812, 1969-1989 Burials 1657-1733, 1737-2000 Banns 1754-1812, 1852-1974

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Shardlow

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barrow on Trent on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 158-161. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.