Barston, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barston, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Barston, Warwickshire
St Switihin Barston Warwickshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Solihull
Registration District Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598; For more records see Berkswell
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Barston
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Barston was formed as a chapelry of Berkswell, Warwickshire Ancient parish. The Church of St. Swithin is a Church of England church which dates from 1721, and is built on the site of an earlier church.

Barson, is a parish in Solihull district, Warwickshire; it is ½ mile ENE of Knowle railway station, and 9 miles W of Coventry. The post town is, Knowle under Birmingham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barston, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Barston, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1598-1812 1598-1812 1598-1812 1598-1812 1598-1812 1598-1812
AC 1813-1899 1813-1899 1754-1910 1754-1910

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1841 Marr 1813-1840 Bur 1813-1841 Missing 1836-1837, 1839-1840

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.


Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed November 21, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.