Barthomley, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Barthomley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Bertoline Church Barthomley
|Hundred||Nantwich; North Pirehill|
|Poor Law Union||Nantwich|
|Registration District||Congleton; Nantwich; Newcastle under Lyme|
|Parish registers: 1562; Separate registers exist for Alsager beginning 1789 and for Crewe beginning 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599; Separate records exist for Alsager beginning 1789|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
BARTHOMLEY, a township in Nantwich district, Cheshire, and a parish in Nantwich and Congleton districts, Cheshire, and in Newcastle-under-Lyne district, Stafford. The township lies adjacent to the North Stafford railway, 1 mile S by W of Radway-Green station, and 5 SE of Crewe; and has a post office under Crewe. The parish includes also the townships of Crewe, Haslington, and Alsager in Cheshire, and the township of Batterley in Staffordshire. The chapelries of Alsager, Crewe-Green, and Haslington, are separate benefices (which also see).
St Bertoline's Church, Barthomley is in the village of Barthomley, Cheshire and is an Ancient parish, which is partly in Cheshire and partly in Staffordshire.
The church stands in an elevated position on Barrow Hill, which was an ancient burial ground. It was the scene of a massacre in the Civil War.
The nave and tower date from the late 15th century and the Crewe chapel from about 1528. There was a restoration of the church between 1852 and 1854.
On Christmas Eve 1643, during the civil war, the church was the scene of a massacre.
Barthomley was an ancient parish within Cheshire. It contained five townships: Alsager, Balterley, Barthomley itself, Crewe, and Haslington. Of these, Balterley township and (now) civil parish was and is entirely in the neighbouring county of Staffordshire, and Crewe was later renamed Crewe Green to avoid confusion with the neighbouring unparished borough and railway town. All five townships were made separate civil parishes in 1866.
The Cheshire part of the ancient parish lay within Nantwich Hundred, Nantwich Poor Law Union, and Nantwich Rural Sanitary District, whilst the Staffordshire part lay in North Pirehill hundred, Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union and Rural Sanitary District. Later on, the modern civil parish (now entirely in Cheshire) was part of Nantwich Rural District.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.
Barthomley St Bertoline parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Barthomley St Bertoline Parish (1562) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1562-1885
|FS BT'S||1599-1864|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Barthomley, St. Bertoline Cheshire Record reference: P284/5063/1-13, 15.
|Parish Register||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1562-1648, 1653-1677, 1680-1771 (marriages to 1760). Burials, 1772-1812. Marriages, 1789-1796. Baptisms, 1772-1847||BRITISH 2000008|
|Baptisms, 1846-1885. Marriages, 1754-1923||BRITISH 2000009|
|Burials, 1813-1888|| BRITISH 2000010 Item 1|
Bishop's transcripts for Barthomley, 1599-1864 Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 21. Bishop's Transcripts are online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
|Bishop's Transcripts||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599, 1605, 1607-1610, 1613-1615, 1617-1618, 1620-1624, 1626-1630, 1633, 1636-1639, 1641, 1658-1666, 1668-1685, 1687-1696, 1698-1814.||BRITISH 1655367 Item 2|
|Burials, 1814-1836. Marriages, 1815-1836. Baptisms, 1815-1864.||BRITISH 1655396 Item 1|
- Primitive Methodist
- Protestant Dissenters
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Non-Conformists records at the Family History Library:
Church records for the Primitive Methodists Church Alsager Baptisms, 1863-1967. Film 2299417 Item 14
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Nantwich (1837–1937)
- Crewe (1937–74)
- Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
- South Cheshire (1988–98)
- Cheshire Central (post1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Barthomley in GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 12 March 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 43–47
- Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 22, ISBN 1871731232
- Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 103–104, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
- Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 71–72, ISBN 0 300 09588 0