Barton Hill St Luke, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Barton Hill St Luke, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barton Hill St Luke, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis; Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton
Registration District Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: Not known
Bishop's Transcripts: 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

Barton Hill St Luke, eccl. dist., in parishs of St James, St George, and Clifton, Gloucestershire. Additional information about this locality is available for Bristol. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 17 July 2013.
Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.