Basildon, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Basildon, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Basildon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Basildon, Essex
Holy Cross Basildon Essex.jpg
Holy Cross Basildon Essex
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay
Registration District Billericay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Laindon
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barstable
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

BASILDON, a chapelry, is in the parish of Laindon, union of Billericay, hundred of Barstable, and S. division of Essex, it is 4½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Billericay. The chapel, dedicated to the Holy Cross, is a neat and substantial edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, with an embattled tower surmounted by a spire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Basildon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Basildon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1653-1930 1654-1812 1653-1947
NBI 1688-1812

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office Holy Cross and St Andrew See also Basildon and Pitsea Congregational Church.

Non-Conformist Parishes

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.


Poor Law Unions

Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Basildon on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.