Basilicata, Italy Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Basilicata)
Jump to: navigation, search
Italy Research Topics
Roman Forum
Beginning Research
Record Types
Italy Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Italy
Basilicata Region
Basilicata-Italy.png

Guide to Basilicata region ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

The region became part of the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies in 1735. Basilicata autonomously declared its annexation to the Kingdom of Italy on August 18, 1860 with the Potenza insurrection. It was during this period that the State confiscated and sold off vast tracts of Basilicata's territory formerly owned by the Catholic Church. As the new owners were a handful of wealthy aristocratic families, the average citizen did not see any immediate economic and social improvements after unification, and poverty continued unabated. This gave rise to the phenomenon of Brigandage in Southern Italy after 1861, whereby the Church encouraged the local people to rise up against the nobility and the new Italian state. This strong opposition movement continued for many years. It was only really after World War II that things slowly began to improve thanks to land reform. In 1952, the inhabitants of the Sassi di Matera were rehoused by the State, but many of Basilicata’s population had emigrated or were in the process of emigrating, which led to a demographic crisis from which it is still recovering.

Jurisdictions

Basilicata Provinces.JPG