Baslow, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Baslow, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Baslow, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baslow, Derbyshire
Baslow St Anne Derbyshire.jpg
Baslow St Anne Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eyam
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Baslow is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1770 from chapelry in Bakewell, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Baslow and Bubnell, Baslow with Bubnell, Bubrell, Calver, Curbar, Froggatt, and Rowland.

BASLOW, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4 miles (N. E.) from Bakewell. This place is situated on the river Derwent, and on the road from Bakewell to Chesterfield. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1].

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.


Church records

Baslow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Baslow St Anne (1569) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1569-1912
  NONE
1574-1912
  NONE
1574-1912
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes

Baslow St Anne originally a chapel of Bakewell, Derbyshire parish formed as a parish in 1869 included the hamlet of Bubnell and townships of  Calver, Curbar and Froggett until 1868 and  Rowland

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2380 has deposited registers Bap 1569 -1982 Mar 1569-1998 Burial 1569-1935 Banns 1823-1871, 1915-1971

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Bakewell

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Baslow on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 168-177. Date accessed: 05 April 2011.