Bassingham, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bassingham, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Bassingham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bassingham, Lincolnshire
Bassingham St Michael Lincolnshire.jpg
Bassingham St Michael Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Boothby-Graffo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Graffoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Bassingham is a village and civil parish about midway between Newark and Lincoln.

Bassingham St Michael is an Ancient Parish; the church parts of which are 10th century had its tower rebuilt twice both in 1782 and 1887. The church was restored in 1860.

Bassingham Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Lincolnshire.jpg

The Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1839 and chapels for Primitive methodists and Reformed Methodists were also built. A Salvation Army Mission Hall was also within the large village.

BASSINGHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Newark, Lower division of the wapentake of Boothby-Graffo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Newark, and 9 miles (S. W. by S.) from Lincoln. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans, and one for Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the eponymous Bassingham sub-district of Newark registration district. This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire. Certificates can be obtained from: Lincolnshire Certificate Applications PO Box 760 Lincoln LN2 5WG Phone: 01522 782244 Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at: Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street Lincoln Lincolnshire LN2 5AB England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue. The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bassingham Par 1 will identify available images. Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bassingham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Bassingham/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 168-177. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.