Baulking with Woolstone, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Baulking with Woolstone

Guide to Baulking with Woolstone, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baulking with Woolstone, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1854
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

BAULKING, a chapelry, in the parish of Uffington, union of Farringdon, hundred of Shrivenham, county of Berks, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Great Farringdon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Baulking parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Baulking Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1850-1989
1850-1989
1850-1989
Non-Conformist Churches

Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Baulking a Chapelry in Uffington in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 177-181. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.