Bawsey, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Bawsey, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Freebridge Lynn|
|Registration District||Freebridge Lynn|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Bawsey St John was an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
The church has been ruined since the 1700's. It was previously recorded as a church in the Lynn denaery of the diocese.
A local landowner cleared the village in the sixteenth century.
Bawsey is a civil parish within the Kings Lynn area.
BAWSEY (St. James), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Lynn. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The civil parish is within the following registration districts:
- Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
- King's Lynn 1939-1974
Bawsey, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BAWSEY PARISH Online Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
The parish registers for earlier years are not available on microfilm.
|Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1770 Marriages 1601-1609, 1629-1636, 1668-1768 Burials 1600-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1766.|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526742 Item 6.
Poor Law Unions
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Bawsey on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 177-181. Date Accessed: 29 Aug 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Bawsey', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.
http://www.britainshistoricsites.co.uk/bawsey-old-church.htm for photographs of the ruined church
http://www.channel4.com/history/microsites/T/timeteam/archive/bawsey.html for 1999 television broadcast of archaeology and further websites relating to the sitehttp://www.lostvillages.co.uk/bawsey/ for details of the village clearance