Bayfield County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bayfield County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Bayfield County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Bayfield County


{{{link}}}


Bayfield County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 12, 1866
County Seat Washburn
Courthouse
Address Bayfield County Courthouse
117 E 5th Street
Washburn, WI 54891-9464
Phone. 715.373.6100 


WI Bayfield.png




County Information

Bayfield County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1879 1869 1850 1850 1857

Historical Facts

1866 - Bayfield County was created 12 April 1866 by the renaming of La Pointe County.  County seat: Washburn [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Ashland  • Douglas  • Sawyer  • Washburn

WI BAYFIELD.JPG

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Maps

Military Records

Civil War
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

Online Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Bayfield Heritage Assoc
117 S 1st Ave
PO Box 813
Bayfield 54814
Telephone: 715-373-6119
Website

Ashland/ Bayfield County Tree Climbers
Rt 1, Box 139
Mason, WI 54856

Moquah Heritage Society
Route 1, Box 35-B
Washburn, WI 54891
Telephone: 715-373-5868
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Bayfield County Clerk
117 E 5th Street
Washburn, WI 54891-9464
Phone. 715-373-6100 

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, and death records from 1850;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1889, probate records
from 1870 and court records from 1888[2]

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Bayfield County, Wisconsin, p.755