Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Swaffham|
|Parish registers: 1762; Separate registers exist for Shingham beginning 1762|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1708; Separate records exist for Shingham beginning 1708|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Beachamwell All Saints is a ruined church and Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
The church declined into ruin in 17th and 18th century. After the reformation it lost association with local families who had supported it.
BEECHAMWELL, a district comprising the parish of All Saints and the united parishes of St. John and St. Mary, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Swaffham. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Shingham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Shingham Parish Online Records|
See records for Shingham in the Norfolk Record Office reference PD 349/ 1-2
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Content|| Film |
| Baptisms 1755-1760, 1787-1812 Marriages 1752, 1787-1808 Burials 1760, 1787-1809
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526808 Item 15
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850.
Poor Law Unions
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Swaffham/Swaffham.shtml
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 194-199. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.