Beadle County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Beadle County, South Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Dakota
Beadle County

Guide to Beadle County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Huron
Organized: October 1, 1879
Parent County(s): Spink,, Clark, Burchard, Kingsbury[1][2]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Hand  • Jerauld  • Kingsbury  • Miner  • Sanborn  • Spink
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaBeadleCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-beadle.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Beadle Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Beadle County, named in honor of Brig. General William Henry Harrison Beadle is located in the central eastern area of the state. It was created by the South Dakota legislature on 1879, and organized in 1880. Cavour, is the county seat.[3]

County Courthouse

Beadle County Courthouse
450 3rd St SW
P.O. Box 55
Huron, SD 57350
Phone: 605.353.7165

Clerk of the Court has divorce records from 1884, probate and court records from 1893;
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage (some as early as 1880)[4], death, land and burial records [5]
County Auditor has tax and school records
County Treasurer has real estate taxes records
Director of Equalization has property tax assessment records

Beadle County, South Dakota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1905 1880 1905 1893 1882 1893 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1905.
Compliance for recording births was 1906 and 1932 for deaths.[7]

Record Loss

School Censuses. Early school censuses listing individual pupils before 1895 either missing or destroyed. School census returns are located in the Beadle County Courthouse, Auditor’s office, Huron, South Dakota. If you plan to visit their office, you must call ahead—certain days are better than others. School censuses are not indexed.

  • Before 1895: Missing or destroyed.
  • 1895-1901: Summaries of the total number of students, no names.
  • 1902: Missing or destroyed.
  • 1903: Huron students—Name, Parent or Guardian, Sex.
  • 1904 and following: Huron and townships—Name, Parent or Guardian, Sex—you must know the year and the school.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[9]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Allen
  • Altoona
  • Banner
  • Barrett
  • Belle Prairie
  • Bonilla
  • Broadland
  • Burr Oak
  • Carlyle
  • Cavour
  • Clifton
  • Clyde
  • Custer
  • Dearborn
  • Fairfield
  • Foster
  • Grant
  • Hartland
  • Huron
  • Iowa
  • Kellogg
  • Lake Byron
  • Liberty
  • Logan
  • Milford
  • Nance
  • Pearl Creek
  • Pleasant View
  • Richland
  • Sand Creek
  • Theresa
  • Valley
  • Vernon
  • Wessington
  • Whiteside
  • Wolsey


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Beadle County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 1,290
1890 9,586 643.1%
1900 8,081 −15.7%
1910 15,776 95.2%
1920 19,273 22.2%
1930 22,917 18.9%
1940 19,648 −14.3%
1950 21,082 7.3%
1960 21,682 2.8%
1970 20,877 −3.7%
1980 19,195 −8.1%
1990 18,253 −4.9%
2000 17,023 −6.7%
2010 17,398 2.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before South Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of South Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[10] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of South Dakota starting in 1890, although only one page survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

  • American Congregational Church, Township 109, Range 64 (Kellogg). Alpena area, SD
  • American Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Apostolic Christian Fellowship. Huron, SD
  • Bateman Church, Township 109, Range 60. (Pearl Creek)--Historic; see:Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Belle Prairie Sunday School, Township 109, Range 59 (Belle Prairie)--Historic
  • Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, Huron, SD--Historic
  • Bethel Mennonite Brethren Church Cemetery, Township 113, Range 60 (Milford), northwest of Yale, SD
  • Bethesda Church, Huron, SD; Mennonite
  • Broadland United Methodist Church, Broadland, SD
  • Bunker Hill Methodist Church, Township 113, Range 59 (Barrett)--Historic
  • Calvary Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • Carpenter United Methodist Church, Carpenter, SD
  • Cavour Methodist Episcopal Church, Cavour, SD--Historic
  • Centennial Center, Huron, SD, aka Old Stone Church
  • Church of Christ, Huron, SD
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Huron, SD
  • Church of the Nazarene, Huron, SD
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Parish, Huron, SD; merger of Saint Martin Catholic Church and Church of the Resurrection, Huron, SD, and Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD
  • Concordia Lutheran Church, Wessington, SD
  • Congregational United Church of Christ, Huron, SD
  • Earlville Norwegian Lutheran Church, Township 109, Range 65 (Burr Oak)--Historic
  • Ebenezer Mennonite Brethren Church, Spink County, SD--Historic [near Beadle County]
  • Ebenezer Reformed Church, Alpena, Jerauld, SD [near Beadle County]
  • Fairfield Bethel Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Township 112, Range 62 (Fairfield)--Historic
  • Faith Evangelical Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Faith Mennonite Church Cemetery, Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • First Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • First Baptist Church, Wolsey, SD
  • First Missionary Church, Huron, SD, aka Huron, Missionary Church
  • First Methodist Church, Huron, SD
  • First Assembly of God Church, Huron, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Bonilla, SD; aka Bonilla Presbyterian Church
  • First Presbyterian Church, Huron, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Wessington, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Wolsey, SD
  • Frances Willard Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 110, Range 61 (Custer)--Historic
  • Grace Episcopal Church, Huron, SD
  • Hitchcock United Methodist Church, Hitchcock, SD
  • Hitchcock Presbyterian Church, Hitchcock, SD--Historic
  • Hofer Church, Township 113, Range 60 (Milford), southwest of Carpenter, SD; see:Hutterthal Mennonite Church & Cemetery
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Parish, Huron, SD; merger of Saint Martin Catholic Church and Church of the Resurrection, Huron, SD, and Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD
  • Huron Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • Huron Christian Church, Huron, SD
  • Huron Church of the Open Bible, Huron, SD
  • Huron Gospel Tabernacle, Huron, SD
  • Huron Mission Church, Huron, SD; Christian & Missionary Alliance
  • Huron Wesleyan Church, Huron, SD
  • Hutterthal Mennonite Church Cemetery, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron), southwest of Carpenter, SD; aka Hofer Church; aka Hutterischer Society Cemetery
  • Ideal Cemetery, Huron, SD
  • Immanuel Lutheran Church Cemetery, Township 109, Range 59 (Belle Prairie), south of Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • James River Church, Huron, SD; nondenominational
  • LaDelle Methodist Church, Spink County, SD--Historic [near Beadle County]
  • Lake Byron Presbyterian Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Lakeside Methodist Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Liberty Center Methodist Church Cemetery, 112, Range 60 (Liberty)--Historic
  • Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Mount Olivet Mennonite Church, Huron, SD
  • Old Stone Church, Huron, SD, see:Centennial Center
  • Our Savior Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Peace Lutheran Church, Virgil, SD--Historic
  • Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 109, Range 60 (Pearl Creek), southwest of Iroquois, Beadle, SD, or southeast of Cavour, SD; aka Wesley Community Church
  • Pitrodie Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 113, Range 59 (Barrett)--Historic
  • Richland Methodist Episcopal Church, 110, Range 60 (Richland)--Historic
  • Riverside United Methodist Church, Huron, SD
  • Rose Hill Presbyterian Church, Township 109, Range 62 (Grant)--Historic
  • Saint Ann Catholic Church, Broadland, SD--Historic
  • Saint John Lutheran Church & Cemetery, Wolsey, SD
  • Saint Martin of Tours Catholic Church, Huron, SD; see:Holy Trinity Catholic Parish
  • Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD; see:Holy Trinity Catholic Parish
  • Saint Paul Catholic Church, Iroquois, Kingsbury, SD--Historic
  • Saint William Catholic Church, 112, Range 60 (Liberty), north of Yale, SD--Historic
  • Salvation Army, Huron, SD
  • Seventh Day Adventist Church, Huron, SD
  • Sod Church, Township 108, Range 60 (Floyd), Sanborn, SD [south of the Beadle-Sanborn County line], south of Iroquois, SD
  • Tipton Community Church, Township 113, Range 65 (Nance)
  • Trinity Lutheran Church, Township 112, Range 59 (Foster), northeast of Yale, then Yale, SD; aka Evangelical Trinity Lutheran Church
  • Trinity United Methodist Church, Iroquois, SD
  • Virgil United Methodist Church, Virgil, SD
  • Wesley Community Church, Township 109, Range 60 (Pearl Creek), southwest of Iroquois, Beadle, SD, or southeast of Cavour, SD; see:Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Wessington Methodist Church, Wessington, SD--Historic
  • Winthrop Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Wolsey Methodist Episcopal Church, Wolsey, SD--Historic
  • [Wolsey] Presbyterian Church, Wolsey, SD

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Beadle County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Historic Map Works Residential Genealogy has the following maps:

and others more current.

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to South Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and South Dakota Military Records.
Confederates.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see South Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information see South Dakota Newspapers. South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

South Dakota State Historical Society--"Newspapers Search Form"

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Beadle then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also:South Dakota Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Dakotaland Museum
1616 1st St. SW
Huron, SD 57350
Phone:605-352-2633
Website

Pyle House Museum
1616 1st St. SW
Huron, SD 57350
Phone:605-352-2633

Societies

Beadle County Genealogical Society
1808 Indiana Ave SE
Huron, SD 57350
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/sdak/beadle/ accessed 1/30/2017
  4. South Dakota Department of Health, “Beadle County Resources”, http://doh.sd.gov/records/county/beadle.aspx/ accessed 21 June 2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Beadle County, South Dakota, p.622
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Beadle County, South Dakota. Page 622 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 620.
  7. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 671; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  8. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Beadle County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beadle_County,_South_Dakota accessed 1 November 2016.
  10. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 617. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.