Beadnell, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Beadnell, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Ebba Beadnell Northumberland
|Poor Law Union||Belford|
|Parish registers: 1766|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1767|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
BEADNELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Bambrough, union of Belford, N. division of Bambrough ward and of Northumberland, 10½ miles (E. S. E.) from Belford.
Beadnell is a parish created from an earlier chapelry within the larger and older parish of Bamburgh, Northumberland. St Ebba's registers began in 1766.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Records of baptisms 1766-1902, marriages 1767-1781, 1855-1902 and burials 1766-1935 are available at Northumberland Collections Service
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/18 March 1767-1838 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.For some Beadnell transcripts it is necessary to search Bamburgh, Northumberland transcripts June 1790-1838.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), Date accessed: 31 July 2013.